Monthly Archives: June 2017

District 5 News

While they weren’t being snowbirds, 6 of the District 5 shufflers participated in a tournament hosted by the Greater Edmonton Shuffleboard Association which is Northern Alberta’s new shuffleboard club. They travelled from their homes in Medicine Hat, Alberta, nearly 5 hours to shuffle in a Singles Tournament at the Ottewell Curling Club in Edmonton. Using Arizona Shuffleboard Association rules, there were 80 entries competing on the 12 inside roll out mats which our shufflers found a lot slower than what they’re used to playing on in District 5.
Celebrating L to R Joyce Carriere; Dawn Carriere; Don Krell; Lois Krell; Gene Carriere; Gid Carriere.png Celebrating L to R Joyce Carriere;   Dawn Carriere; Don Krell; Lois Krell; Gene Carriere; Gid Carriere.png
When they’re snowbirds, Gid & Joyce Carriere and Gene & Dawn Carriere shuffle with the Indian Wells RV Shuffleboard Association in Indio and Don & Lois Krell shuffle with the Tramview Shuffleboard Association in Cathedral City.
Even though there were 80 entries, it ended up that out of the 6 District 5 shufflers, 4 of them ended up playing one another.  Playing each other in the C event, Gid ended up 2nd
 Gid Carriere being awarded 2nd   place.pngDon Krell accepting his 3rd place   award.png
 and Don was 3rd.
They report they had a good time, met a lot of nice people and gathered a lot of information for more places to shuffle in Canada.

Shuffleboard Centerpiece Brings in A Mix of Players.

Annual Event Draws 92 Players.

by Dean Grattidge,    District 7 Reporter
Hosted by Sierra Dawn South, a good number of players squared off for pins and cash on the fast boards at the annual SDS Any Doubles.
Personnel in charge were: SDS President, Jan Stephens, ATM’s Lynda Goggin and Helen Noeltner, head ref, George Hayner and Scoring Supervisor, Dennis Iszler.
Three players took good care of the boards: Scotty Lundie, Art Leseberg and Newt Ball.
We owe a debt of gratitude to our new sponsor, Norton Iron Inc., for their generous contributions.
The Doubles Winners were  –
First place, Martha Gasche and Jackie Gilbert, both from The Foothills of Hemet (they are first time winners)!20170607_154902-1.jpg
Second place, Paul Egly (SDSE) and Tom Armijo (Sun City), 20170607_154805.jpg
third place, John and Linda Nielsen from Desert
Hot Springs, D5, 20170607_154710.jpg
fourth place, Vicki Dumar and Helen Noeltner, both from SDSE.20170607_154630.jpg
Consolation bracket:
First place, Robert Brooks (SDSE) and Bruce Kiefert (Golden Village Palms),20170607_154529
second place, Newt and Margie Ball
(SDS), another pair of first time winners, 20170607_154448
and third place, Harlan Mathews and John Hay (El Grande Estates),20170607_154347
followed by fourth place, Ron Dewberry and Dean Grattidge (Hemet Muni).20170607_154307
Thanks to the effort of all participants for making this a successful event.