Monthly Archives: March 2018

11 Facts About Royal Palms Shuffleboard Club, Opening Today in Chicago Everything to know about how Royal Palms started and its Bucktown spinoff

Your Source for Shuffleboard News

Four years after becoming a viral sensation in Brooklyn and introducing shuffleboard to a new generation, Royal Palms Shuffleboard Club opens its second location today in Chicago. Owners Jonathan Schnapp and Ashley Albert set it apart from other gaming bars and restaurants due to the uniqueness of shuffleboard, the genuine passion they have for the game, the come-as-you-vibe first in NYC and now Bucktown, and their reverence and aspiration to be like restaurant hospitality legends.
“[We’re inspired by] the idea that people can be as passionate about fun as about food or drinks,” Schnapp says.
To prime Chicagoans for their first shuffleboard club, here are 11 things to know about Royal Palms.

Royal Palms is inspired by a “magical” party Schnapp and Albert attended six years ago at a century-old shuffleboard club in St. Petersburg, Florida. They originally were “mostly kidding” about opening their own club in NYC and went…

View original post 809 more words


CSA 3rd VP Russel Smart called a meeting of the rules committee yesterday. Present from D5 we’re Russel, D5 Pres. Gene Eager and sec. Shirley Eager. Present from D7 were D7 treasurer, Harlan Matthews, D7 Head Ref. George Hayner, CSA sec. Rocky Raver and myself.

We met in the Canyon club house. The 2 hour meeting was very productive and will result in some changes and some clarifications. They will be coming soon to a court near you.

Following the meeting we played a game on the very nice Canyon boards. D5 whipped D7. Sniffle.



             Approximately 100 shufflers are qualified to play in the District 5 Tournament of Champions. To qualify for a 5-year invitation, the player must have placed in the Singles or Any Doubles Tournaments, either in the Championship or Consolation Divisions. The Champions of each Tournament of Champions division get a lifetime invitation to participate in the Tournament of Champions – this is on the bucket list of the majority of District 5 shufflers.


            At the March 5 – 7 Tournament of Champions hosted by Desert Crest Shuffleboard Club at Desert Hot Springs, 43 men and 25 women vied for the coveted Eagle trophies. Trophies are awarded first through fourth in both the Men’s Division and the Women’s Division. The Champion in each division also has their name engraved on the traveling trophies and receive a special TOC winner’s pin. All participants in the tournament receive a TOC participation pin with the year engraved. Many of the players have pins nearly surrounding the whole collar of their team shirts.


            John & Linda Nielsen, new to managing this tournament, did a fantastic job in organizing and making sure all the players were well informed of their play times. This bittersweet tournament…. Everyone looks forward to playing in it, but it signifies the end of District 5’s season so there are a lot of “goodbyes and we hope to see you next season”.


                        2018 Women’s Division Winners l-r: Champion – Val McDougall, Desert Crest; 2nd – Linda Nielsen, Desert Crest; 3rd – Claudine Gurney, Royal Palms; & 4th – Shirley Eager, Indian Wells.

TOC Ladies Division Winners (1) 

            2018 Men’s Division Winners: Champion – Clare DeBlonde, Royal Palms; 2nd – John Burnett, Ramon; 3rd – Allen Sliger, Safari; & 4th – Mike Bell, Ramon.

TOC Men's Division Winners (1)

District 5 Hi-10 League

The “snowbird” season for the CSA District 5 Hi-10 League has ended for the 2017 – 2018 season. At the CSA District 5 Hi-10 meeting held Saturday, March 3, plaques were awarded to the top 3 of the 11 teams that competed throughout the Coachella Valley/Palm Springs area.
Tramview Roadrunners – 1st place – 81 points.
Captain Bob Junk received the award from IWRV Resort Shuffleboard President, Gene Eager, in memory of deceased sponsor, Bev Rowley.
Tramview Roadrunners Receiving   1st.JPG
Royal Palms Happy Gang – 2nd place – 80 points
Captain Walt Gurney received the award presented by John Nielsen for plaque sponsors Chuck & Jan Maynard
Royal Palms Happy Gang Receiving   2nd.JPG
Indian Wells RV Resort – 3rd place – 76 points
l to r: Shirley Eager, Co-Captain and Louise Bryant, Co-Captain received the award presented by Dick Seburn in memory of his deceased wife, Carmen.
 Indian Wells Receiving 3rd.JPG

District 5 Elects New Officers for 2018 – 2019 & 2019 – 2020 Season

At the annual spring meeting of the California Shuffleboard Association’s District 5, new officer June Merasty, 2nd Vice President was elected and installed.DSCN8085.JPG Since the incoming president who had been serving as 1st Vice President had submitted a letter of resignation due to health reasons, current President Gene Eager agreed to remain in the office of President for the next 2 seasons. Officers for the next 2 seasons are, from left to right, Gene Eager, Indian Wells RV Resort, President; June Merasty, Royal Palms, 2nd Vice President (newly elected); Gary Adams, Palm Desert Greens, 1st Vice President; Shirley Eager, Indian Wells RV Resort, Secretary/Treasurer; and Russ Smart, The Canyon, Immediate Past President.DSCN8086.JPG