Monthly Archives: February 2020


Tuesday, February 4 – Friday, February 7, the District 5 Any Doubles Shuffleboard Tournament was hosted by the Royal Palms Shuffleboard Club at their location in Cathedral City. Seventy-six doubles entries shuffled during this 4-day event. A special thank you to Cathy Conran-Smith for filling in for ATMs Marlene Oslie and Shirley Eager who both had emergencies and had to leave the desert prior to the tournament. Cathy was ably assisted by her husband Larry. The tournament went off without a hitch and all the participants were so grateful Cathy was able to fill in. District 5 First Vice President, Gary Adams, presented the awards.


Bill Rindone & Chuck Gerock, Champions Any Doubles Tournament

1st:   Bill Rindone & Chuck Gerock, Palm Desert GreensBetty Anne Jodoin & Carol Barker,  2nd Championship.jpg

2nd: Carol Barker & Betty Anne Jodoin, Ramo
Roland & Huguette Dandeneau, 3rd  Champiionship.jpg
3rd:  Roland & Huguette Dandeneau, Royal Palms
Cliff Pfefferle & Fran Maze, 4th  Championship.jpg
4th:  Fran Maze & Cliff Pfefferle, Tramview
Margaret Hendriks & Gail Dodd,  Chapion, Consolation.jpg
1st: Margaret Hendriks & Gail Dodd, Royal Palms
Don & Lois Krell, 2nd  Consolation.jpg
2nd: Lois Krell & Don Krell, Royal Palms
Ron & Mary Anne Kroetsch, 3rd  Consolation.jpg
3rd:  Ron & Mary Anne Kroetsch, Royal PalmsJoe & Betty Sweder, 4th  Consolation.jpg
4th:  Betty & Joe Sweder, Tramview
We’re excited that there are some new qualifiers to participate in the Tournament of Champions which will be hosted by the Desert Crest Shuffleboard Club the first part of March in Desert Hot Springs.

District 7 Rookie Tournament 2020

This year’s rookie tournament was held at Sierra Dawn SE on February 8th and 9th.

Special thanks to the ATM’s Lynda Goggin and Robert Brooks, head referee George Hayner, head scorekeeper Carol Blassingame, and the board crew.

The Winners

Left to right, 4th place Colleen Fitzpatrick (TL@HW), 3rd place Roger Kroger (SDSE), 2nd place DeDe Malone (7-Hills), 1st place Germina Demers (TL@HW).groupfourth.jpgthird.jpgsecond.jpgfirst.jpg


District 7 Tournament of Champions 2020

This non-sanctioned tournament created by George Hayner was restricted to only the winners from last year.  It was a single elimination weekend event on January 25-26, 2020.  The first place finisher received a plaque to keep for a year, and all winners received a commemorative pin and a cash award.

Special thanks to the ATM’s Lynda Goggin & Cheryl Dewberry, head scorekeeper Tootie Chittenden, head referee George Hayner, and the board crew.


The Winners (left to right):

Fourth place – Jay Davidson (The Lakes at Hemet West); Third place – Harlan Mathews (El Grande Estates); Second place – Bruce Kiefert (Sierra Dawn SE); First place – Robert Brooks (Sierra Dawn SE).


The Passing of the Winner’s Plaque

Robert Brooks (left) receives the winner’s plaque to hold for a year, from last year’s champion Ron Dewberry

For more pictures go to: