The Bank of Hemet District 7 Team Tournament

by Dean Grattidge, District 7 Reporter



Homecoming for a Heralded Leader

Well-Maintained Boards for Tournament Play –

Thelma Carvin

Thelma Meda Finley Hall Carvin passed away at the age of 91 on July 29, 2017 peacefully at home with her daughter Cheryl and son Earle (“Woody”) at her side. She was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on November 24, 1925. She was married to Joseph Hall in June 1943 until he was killed in action in December 1944. She later married Earle W. Carvin, Jr. on November 27, 1946 until his passing on November 30, 2003 after celebrating their 57th wedding anniversary. Thelma is preceded in death by her husband Earle Woodworth Carvin, Jr. She is survived by her son C. De Hall of Long Beach, son and daughter-in-law Earle W. Carvin, III and Kathy Carvin of Hemet, daughter Linda Joyce Hoback of 29 Palms, and daughter Cheryl Meda Burns of Hemet, 10 grandchildren, 15 great-grandchildren, and 4 great-great-grandchildren. Thelma grew up and attended high school in South Philly. Thelma and her husband Earle began raising their family in Levittown, PA until the birth of their 4th child when they moved to Long Beach, California. She worked nights at General Telephone as an operator in 1969. She began working for Dooley’s Hardware in Long Beach in 1970 retiring as the executive secretary in 1984. After retirement she was a volunteer at the 1984 Olympics for the archery and equestrian events. Thelma and Earle moved to Golden Village Palms RV Resort in Hemet, CA in 1988 to enjoy retirement. Thelma was incredibly involved with shuffleboard for many years playing on several teams and attending the classics in Mesa, AZ annually. She loved being a player, score keeper, and ATM. Her name appears on many trophies. Thelma lived her life to its fullest every day. She’d say “age is just a number” and she didn’t want to slow down. Kayaking at age 82, riding down big water-slides at age 86, cruising to Panama Canal at age 88, still shuffleboarding and driving at age 91, the list goes on. Following the private interment on Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at Riverside National Cemetery where she will join her husband Earle, there will be a Celebration of Life memorial service at 1:00pm at Golden Village Palms RV Resort located at 3600 W. Florida Avenue, Hemet, CA in the Banquet Room.

Hemet West Hosts Doubles Competition

How Does the ISA Break Significant Ties by Glenn Monroe? 2017 07 26

The Celebration Is Over! The Adventure Begins

TD Monroe Tells Us What It Is; and When It Is Used!

SPEED SHUFFLEBOARD: Speed Shuffleboard shall be used to break all significant ties remaining after a round robin.

Significant ties shall be defined as those ties which alter the placement of the players in subsequent rounds. For example, if two players are tied for first place and the top two players from their group are to be moved into the same next group, then that tie is not significant and no speed shuffle round will be required. If, however, they cannot both be moved into the same next group, then the tie shall be deemed as significant and they will be required to break the tie with a round of speed shuffleboard.
The rules of Speed Shuffleboard are as follows:
1. Each player will be assigned a court by the Tournament Director or his designee. 2. Each player will…

View original post 215 more words

How A Venue Enjoys Success –

Greetings From ISA President Bilton in advance of the 36th ISA in Rio de Janeiro.

The Celebration Is Over! The Adventure Begins

Warm Greetings from the International Shuffleboard Association President, Myrna Bilton

Myrna Speaks: With just a couple of weeks before the 36th ISA World Championship being held in Brazil, may we reflect on the past, present and future ISA Championships. There are exciting times ahead for the International Shuffleboard Association and we always keep the ISA Inherent Mission in our minds…….

The Inherent Mission of the International Shuffleboard Association is to promote and foster positive international relations around the world through the game of shuffleboard. It is for this very reason that we annually meet. Our member nations gather at selected worldwide locations to share love, develop lasting friendships, learn new cultures, and spend precious time together engaging in competitive shuffleboard.

On behalf of the International Shuffleboard Association, it is my privilege and honour to congratulate and thank the Brazilian Shuffleboard Association for hosting the 36th ISA World Championship.

I would…

View original post 85 more words

District 5 News

While they weren’t being snowbirds, 6 of the District 5 shufflers participated in a tournament hosted by the Greater Edmonton Shuffleboard Association which is Northern Alberta’s new shuffleboard club. They travelled from their homes in Medicine Hat, Alberta, nearly 5 hours to shuffle in a Singles Tournament at the Ottewell Curling Club in Edmonton. Using Arizona Shuffleboard Association rules, there were 80 entries competing on the 12 inside roll out mats which our shufflers found a lot slower than what they’re used to playing on in District 5.
Celebrating L to R Joyce Carriere; Dawn Carriere; Don Krell; Lois Krell; Gene Carriere; Gid Carriere.png Celebrating L to R Joyce Carriere;   Dawn Carriere; Don Krell; Lois Krell; Gene Carriere; Gid Carriere.png
When they’re snowbirds, Gid & Joyce Carriere and Gene & Dawn Carriere shuffle with the Indian Wells RV Shuffleboard Association in Indio and Don & Lois Krell shuffle with the Tramview Shuffleboard Association in Cathedral City.
Even though there were 80 entries, it ended up that out of the 6 District 5 shufflers, 4 of them ended up playing one another.  Playing each other in the C event, Gid ended up 2nd
 Gid Carriere being awarded 2nd   place.pngDon Krell accepting his 3rd place   award.png
 and Don was 3rd.
They report they had a good time, met a lot of nice people and gathered a lot of information for more places to shuffle in Canada.

Shuffleboard Centerpiece Brings in A Mix of Players.