Annual Hall of Fame Tournament, December 26-28, 2017

by Dean Grattidge, District 7 Reporter

Held in landmark venue of Golden Village Palms Resort, this site hosted the Hall of Fame Tournament. GVP has been the home of the shuffleboard museum for over a decade, having been moved here from Manteca.

Three newly elected players await the posting of their photographs on the wall of the Hall of Fame.  They are:
Mike Walke, D13, Sacramento, Sharyn DiChiro, D7 SDSE, and  Gene Eager, D5, Palm springs. Congratulations to these winners.
Player participants, representing 8 local clubs, plus District 5 of Palm Springs were on hand, with a total of 60 entries. Eight players from Hemet Muni stepped forward to showcase their skills. Games were 12 frame singles, played under CSA rules.
The Bank of Hemet was very generous again in  funding drawings and prize money. We certainly commend them and thank them for that.
Entry fees also paid for a portion of the funding.
Tournament director, Helen Bell, kept this event running smoothly. Several CSA officers participated: President Jay Davidson, first vice president, Carol Blasingame and second vice president, Nelda Lichtwald who supervised the collection of and
certifying the accuracy of all score cards. Head ref was Ray Achenhausen. We thank them all for their time and effort.
All eight winners received a pin and a cash award.
I am always delighted to list the eight players who leave a personal legacy in the shuffleboard record book.  They are  –
Championship: L-R
From SDSE, Robert Brooks, first place, who was awarded the handsome traveling trophy to keep for one year,
second place, Kit Lyman (Hemet Muni) who made a serious challenge for first place, third place, George Baslak (Foothills of Hemet),
and fourth place, Earl Berard (Golden Village Palms), his first win in this type of tournament.
Consolation round: L-R
First place John Brock (CCC),
second place, John Nielsen (District 5),
third place, Warren Huffman (Hemet Muni)
and fourth place, Cheryl Newberry (also a Hemet Muni entry).
I commend all workers and players who took part in and made this a memorable tournament.
Next event will be the Tournament of Champions, to be held at SDSE from January 5th to 6th, 2018.


First a WELCOME BACK to all the returning snow-birds.

League play has started here in District 7. The teams are set and we are getting back to our weekly schedule. The Oldympics tournament, closely followed by the D7 Ray Patterson picnic, once again got all of us off on the right foot.

Looking ahead in D7, we have the Thanksgiving break with the annual fun day/auction at Muni. The Christmas break will have the Hall of Fame singles/CSA annual meeting at Golden Village Palms. And possibly, a Tournament of Champions D7 style after New Years.

District 5 is set to get under way with their Fall metings on Nov. 4th.  The first games for Desert Shufflers will be played on Wed., Nov. 16 and the Hi-10s will be on Thurs., Nov. 9 and the regular schedule of tournaments will be played. Also many will look forward to the Desert Challenge, to be hosted by District 7 this year, possibly Jan. 20th.

From time to time I have shared articles of shuffleboard interest on these pages. If you have or see an article you would like to share, do it in the comments space below or email me @

Large turnout, 76 players vie for medals in shuffleboard

The Bank of Hemet District 7 Team Tournament

by Dean Grattidge, District 7 Reporter


Homecoming for a Heralded Leader

Well-Maintained Boards for Tournament Play –

Thelma Carvin

Thelma Meda Finley Hall Carvin passed away at the age of 91 on July 29, 2017 peacefully at home with her daughter Cheryl and son Earle (“Woody”) at her side. She was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on November 24, 1925. She was married to Joseph Hall in June 1943 until he was killed in action in December 1944. She later married Earle W. Carvin, Jr. on November 27, 1946 until his passing on November 30, 2003 after celebrating their 57th wedding anniversary. Thelma is preceded in death by her husband Earle Woodworth Carvin, Jr. She is survived by her son C. De Hall of Long Beach, son and daughter-in-law Earle W. Carvin, III and Kathy Carvin of Hemet, daughter Linda Joyce Hoback of 29 Palms, and daughter Cheryl Meda Burns of Hemet, 10 grandchildren, 15 great-grandchildren, and 4 great-great-grandchildren. Thelma grew up and attended high school in South Philly. Thelma and her husband Earle began raising their family in Levittown, PA until the birth of their 4th child when they moved to Long Beach, California. She worked nights at General Telephone as an operator in 1969. She began working for Dooley’s Hardware in Long Beach in 1970 retiring as the executive secretary in 1984. After retirement she was a volunteer at the 1984 Olympics for the archery and equestrian events. Thelma and Earle moved to Golden Village Palms RV Resort in Hemet, CA in 1988 to enjoy retirement. Thelma was incredibly involved with shuffleboard for many years playing on several teams and attending the classics in Mesa, AZ annually. She loved being a player, score keeper, and ATM. Her name appears on many trophies. Thelma lived her life to its fullest every day. She’d say “age is just a number” and she didn’t want to slow down. Kayaking at age 82, riding down big water-slides at age 86, cruising to Panama Canal at age 88, still shuffleboarding and driving at age 91, the list goes on. Following the private interment on Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at Riverside National Cemetery where she will join her husband Earle, there will be a Celebration of Life memorial service at 1:00pm at Golden Village Palms RV Resort located at 3600 W. Florida Avenue, Hemet, CA in the Banquet Room.

Hemet West Hosts Doubles Competition

How Does the ISA Break Significant Ties by Glenn Monroe? 2017 07 26

The Celebration Is Over! The Adventure Begins

TD Monroe Tells Us What It Is; and When It Is Used!

SPEED SHUFFLEBOARD: Speed Shuffleboard shall be used to break all significant ties remaining after a round robin.

Significant ties shall be defined as those ties which alter the placement of the players in subsequent rounds. For example, if two players are tied for first place and the top two players from their group are to be moved into the same next group, then that tie is not significant and no speed shuffle round will be required. If, however, they cannot both be moved into the same next group, then the tie shall be deemed as significant and they will be required to break the tie with a round of speed shuffleboard.
The rules of Speed Shuffleboard are as follows:
1. Each player will be assigned a court by the Tournament Director or his designee. 2. Each player will…

View original post 215 more words