What Is Am Epic Tournament? The “Classic” of Course!

   by Dean Grattidge  – District 7 Reporter
Bring 15 teams and 247 players together in Hemet and you have an exciting tournament, the “CSA Soboba Classic”.
The list of volunteers who put this event together is almost endless: The spectrum runs from Tournament Director to Rules Committee, taking in Suzanne Shapiro, District 7 President, Jeannie Gregory, George Hayes, Jay Davidson, Rocky Raver, Nelda Lichtwald, Tootie Chittenden, Glenda Epps, Steve Piccinonno, Lynda Goggin, Mike Garrett, Helen Bell and Dennis Iszler.
Hosted by District 7 of the Ca Shuffleboard Assn., an event of this scope could not have been completed without so many sponsors. They, being The Bank of Hemet, Miller Jones Mortuary and Crematory, Travelodge Hemet, Motel 6 Hemet, Dura Dress Shuffleboard Inc.. T Rol-A-Glide, Arco Tournament Discs, Roll-A-Court Rollouts, Banquet Afloral and
Super Wholesalers, Café D. J. Catering, Yankee Doodle Donut, Maxwell Medal & Awards, M & M Shuffleboard Equipment, Val Verde Graphics and Pip Printing.
We were proud to have these guests present from our Number 1 Sponsor, the Soboba Foundation: Geneva Mojado, Vice President and Patrick Plancencia, Treasurer.
Among the many dignitaries and shuffleboard office holders were:
NSA 1st VP, John Houser, NSA Western Rep and AZ Dist. 1 Pres, Sylvia Smith. State Presidents, Tom Wiehle, Minn.  Ruth Hugen, Iowa.  Az, Dale Monday.  Wa, Bill Rindone.  Ca, Jay Davidson. Az District 3 Pres, Juanita Nelson(outgoing) and (incoming) Shirley Houser. Also Sheila Monday, Az webmaster along with about 8 other jobs.
CSA President, Jay Davidson asked the many NSA, and State Hall of Fame members present to stand and welcome Ruth Schneider who received a standing ovation on her induction into The National Hall of Fame as NSA 1st VP John Houser presented her with the pin and plaque.IMG_2638
ATM’s at four venues kept the event running smoothly: Hemet Muni; Janet Langemeier and Dennis Iszler, Hemet West; Bobbi McLemore and Shirley Callahan. Sierra Dawn SE; Rita Deidrich and Mary Davis. GVP; Helen Bell and Ramona Hansen.
Jay Davidson, CSA President, was on duty constantly, supervising the event and, lastly,
handing out pins to all winners and the handsome traveling trophy to the championship team, the Yuma Rebels.
The lunch was excellent. It included sandwich choices of roast beef, tuna or turkey. This, together with soup, pasta, fruit and green salad. Browniess and cookies were served for dessert.
Canada and the U.S.A. sent players to this gathering.
Bobbi McLemore, Shirley Callahan and Norma Farmer handled the 50-50 ticket sales and drawing.
IMG_2663The sum of $205.00 was awarded to Valley Wide to help defray expenses.
I feel privileged to acknowledge the following winners:
Championship: The best team and arguably the most colorful, the Yuma Rebels,
directed by Captains Phyllis Willcox (r) and Patti Tyler.IMG_2659.jpg
Second place, A Hemet team,
the Armadillos, lead by Captains Mike Garrett and Jeannie Gregory,
third place, a composite of California and Arizona players, the Calzona Compadres.
The Calizona Compadres were lead by Dale Monday from Arizona and Steve Piccinonno from District 7
Fourth place, the Yuma Disc Eaters,
IMG_2646Captained by John Houser and
Linda Stone Burner.
The remaining players on these teams are to be found in your printed Classic program.
Big Thank You and congratulations to all players and participants, especially to our District 7 President, Suzanne Shapiro, for all the persistence and effort she put in, directing the Classic Tournament. To all of you, job well done!

1 thought on “What Is Am Epic Tournament? The “Classic” of Course!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s