Sixty-eight shufflers competed in the inaugural Gene Eager Memorial Mixed Singles Tournament on January 6 – 8, 2023, at Tramview in Cathedral City. Gene & Shirley’s daughters, Kim Whitcomb and Tina Reed, were present throughout the tournament and set up a display table with Gene’s picture and some of his major accomplishments. Gene started shuffling in 2008 and was the Indian Wells RV Resort Shuffleboard Club President since 2009. He was elected District 5 President in March, 2016, and had been elected President of the California Shuffleboard Association 2 months prior to his death on February 28, 2020. He was inducted into the California Shuffleboard Hall of Fame in 2017 and was a member of one of the 4-person teams that represented the United States at the 37th International Shuffleboard Assn World Shuffleboard Championship in High River, Alberta, Canada in 2018. In 2019, he metaled in the shuffleboard division of the National Senior Games in Albuquerque, NM.

The Champion of this tournament was Gary Adams who is Captain of the Palm Desert Greens Shuffleboard Hi-10 team and the current District 5 President. Also placing in the Championship Division were: 2nd: Joyce Carriere, Indian Wells; 3rd: Bruce Kiefert, The Canyon; and 4th: Bob Lausch, Tramview.

Consolation Winners were: Champion Val McDougall, Desert Crest; 2nd: Mick Guyette, The Canyon; 3rd: Dick Jenkins, Ramon; and 4th Jim (Pete) Peterson, Indian Wells.

Championship Division picture from left to right: Kim Whitcomb; Bob Lausch; Bruce Kiefert; Joyce Carriere, Gary Adams; Shirley Eager; & Tina Reed.
Consolation Division: Linda Nielsen; Val McDougall; Mick Guyette; Dick Jenkins; Jim (Pete) Peterson; & Shirley Eager.
Gene & Shirley’s daughters, Kim Whitcomb and Tina Reed
The Eager Family donated a perpetual plaque with Gene’s picture on it and 1st through 4th place pins for both the Championship and Consolation Divisions were donated by Linda Nielsen & her late husband, John. Money was awarded in both divisions.

Head Referee was John McCready, Tri Palms; Head Scorekeeper, Val McDougall, Desert Crest; Head Boardman, Gary Adams, Palm Desert Greens and ATM Shirley Eager, Indian Wells. All 9 District 5 clubs participated and volunteered their time for this special tournament.

-Shirley Eagar


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s