Category Archives: Tournaments


What every shuffler in District 5 looks forward to is being qualified for the prestigious Tournament of Champions and winning an eagle. Not only do you earn an eagle in golf, if you place in the top 4 in the Men’s or Women’s divisions of the TOC, you earn an eagle. To be eligible to compete in the TOC, a shuffler must place in the top 4 in either the Championship or Consolation Division of the District 5 Singles or Doubles Tournaments. By placing in the top 4, the shuffler has gained eligibility for the next 5 years. Due to COVID, last season no tournaments were held in District 5 so the eligibility for this season’s TOC was extended by one year.



-Shirley Eager 2/6/22

Even though the number of entries was less than when last held in 2020, the enthusiasm and superior play from the 72 shufflers who competed in the Any Doubles Tournament was outstanding. When a decision was made that the annual host of this tournament was not able to hold the tournament at their facilities at Royal Palms in Cathedral City, the Ramon Park Shuffleboard Club offered their facilities in Palm Springs as long as they were not responsible for getting the referees and scorekeepers and they would have help with the boards – not a problem! With representation from 8 of the 9 shuffleboard clubs entered in the tournament, volunteers to “man” the duties of refereeing, scorekeeping and cleaning and waxing the boards went off like clockwork. Ramon Park had just hosted the annual Rookie Tournament a few weeks earlier so their shufflers were now able to focus their help on the food served each day. Everyone was excited when Ramon announced they would be serving their “world-famous” Ramon burgers and the smell of burgers cooking and onions browning during the morning play reminded everyone of what we had missed this past year when Covid had interrupted our shuffleboard season. Mother Nature once again tried to wreck havoc with the tournament by allowing the Santa Ana winds to blow all of the second day of the tournament. With wind wax applied to the boards due to the 40 to 50 mph gusts, many shufflers were having trouble getting their discs to the lag line. One shuffler was heard to say she didn’t worry about going in the kitchen because she couldn’t even get her disc to the lag line.


2022 District 5 Rookie Tournament

Twenty rookies were entered in the annual District 5 Rookie Tournament held at Ramon Park in Palm Springs on January 17 & 18, 2022. A last-minute cancellation fielded a group of 19 players competing to be named the Champion. This year the traveling plaque was donated by Shirley Eager in memory of her husband Gene Eager. Gene started shuffling in January 2008 and won the Rookie Tournament at Ramon Park that year. The Ramon Park Shuffleboard Club presented Shirley with the traveling plaque from 1996 – 2008 that had Gene’s name as the final name on the plaque. Gene passed away February 28, 2020, and because of his love for the game and always willing to help the newcomers learn and love the game the way he did, it was fitting that this plaque was in his memory.

Continue reading 2022 District 5 Rookie Tournament

District 5 Tournament 2021

DESPITE THE WEATHER, DISTRICT 5 SHUFFLERS COMPETE IN THEIR FIRST 2021 TOURNAMENT (Submitted by Shirley Eager, Secretary/Treasurer District 5)

District 5 shufflers were anxious to get back to shuffling after not having any organized competitions the past season due to the pandemic, so it was with great anticipation the 40 men and 24 women assembled in Thousand Palms on December 7 to start the first day of the 4-day tournament.

Continue reading District 5 Tournament 2021


Tuesday, February 4 – Friday, February 7, the District 5 Any Doubles Shuffleboard Tournament was hosted by the Royal Palms Shuffleboard Club at their location in Cathedral City. Seventy-six doubles entries shuffled during this 4-day event. A special thank you to Cathy Conran-Smith for filling in for ATMs Marlene Oslie and Shirley Eager who both had emergencies and had to leave the desert prior to the tournament. Cathy was ably assisted by her husband Larry. The tournament went off without a hitch and all the participants were so grateful Cathy was able to fill in. District 5 First Vice President, Gary Adams, presented the awards. Continue reading 2020 DISTRICT 5 ANY DOUBLES TOURNAMENT CONCLUDES

District 7 Rookie Tournament 2020

This year’s rookie tournament was held at Sierra Dawn SE on February 8th and 9th.

Special thanks to the ATM’s Lynda Goggin and Robert Brooks, head referee George Hayner, head scorekeeper Carol Blassingame, and the board crew.

The Winners

Left to right, 4th place Colleen Fitzpatrick (TL@HW), 3rd place Roger Kroger (SDSE), 2nd place DeDe Malone (7-Hills), 1st place Germina Demers (TL@HW).groupfourth.jpgthird.jpgsecond.jpgfirst.jpg