Monthly Archives: April 2019

The John McDonough Doubles

April 15-19. The fast Sierra Dawn South shuffleboard courts hosted their annual John McDonough tournament, an any doubles event for the second year.

Hosted by Howard Drake, with ATM’s Lynda Goggin and Helen Noeltner, the board crew had things ready for play at 8:30 Monday for the 40 teams of hopefuls. George Hayner handled the Head Referee duties and Carol Anderson and Carol Blasingame oversaw the scorekeepers and passed out the Karla Winget candy. The lunch ladies served pulled pork, chicken, hot dogs, sloppy joe sandwiches along with salads, chips, drinks and deserts. For some the lunches were the best part of the day.

For the other 8 teams that made it to the money rounds on Thursday, the games were hard fought. It seemed the boards yielded more 10’s than usual but kitchens were also easy to come by.

The winners posed for pictures under the banner of the tournament sponsor. Many thanks to The Bank of Hemet for their continuing support of District 7 shuffleboard.

cons-group.jpgfront row from r-l: Howard Harrell & Jim Higgins, 1st place consolation. 2nd place, Janice Flaherty & Elaine Graf. Back row r-l, 3rd place, Ruth and Roland Schneider. 4th place, George Hayes and Ray Ackenhausen

And the Champions—champ-group.jpgBack row from left, 4th place, Mike Garrett and Bill Rindone(took the money and ran). 3rd place, George Baslak and Alice Beers. Front row from left, 2nd place, John and Linda Nielsen. And the champs, Jay Davidson and Robert Brooks.

The Nielsen’s and Bill Rindone came over to play from District 5. Congratulations to them and all the winners. And thanks to all those who volunteered and gave their time to this fine tournament.

If you weren’t successful here, try again at the CSA Singles, hosted by the Sun City club on May 6th.


March 26th through 29th, 2019 , 14 teams comprised of Hemet, California  District 7, Palm Springs, California District 5 and Mesa, Tucson, and Yuma, Arizona, residents and snowbirds from all over the US and Canada played in this, the 13th Annual CSA Soboba Classic open team tournament.  It was hosted by District 7, and sponsored by the Soboba Foundation, the Bank of Hemet, Miller – Jones Mortuary and Cemetery, Poly Glide, Dura Dress, Travelodge, Motel 6,  and some local merchants offering special discounts.

Each year, many of the same players enter the competition at 4 to 5 different venues, hoping to place in the top of their division . This year the venues were Hemet Muni the only open City provided club, Sierra Dawn South senior community, Seven Hills’ senior community and The Lakes at Hemet West senior community. After a year of planning about 250 players enter into the thrill of competition. However, notwithstanding the outcome they find themselves in making new friends and new memories until the next year, when the competition will start all over again. The week concluded on Friday evening with a most wonderful banquet held in the ballroom of the brand new Soboba casino.

All winners will receive commemorative jackets. And the winners are: Blue division 1st place and overall champions, The Calizona Compadres, captained by Dale Monday. (8th from left)Blue1a

2nd place Blue division, Kokopelli Players, Captained by Sylvia Smith. (5th from left)Blue2

1st place Red division, District 5 Roadrunners, captained by Shirley Eager.(holding the roadrunner in the cage)Red1

2nd place Red division, Terminators, captained by Carol Anderson. (2nd from right)Red2

Graphics of the division jackets.



The National Any Doubles, a yearly event, was contested at the 7 Hills Shuffleboard Club in Hemet, Ca. Monday through Thursday during the first week in April. This yearly event as usual followed the CSA Soboba Classic Team Tournament.

56 teams started early on Monday, the 1st, and no April fools were in evidence. Well, maybe just me.

By Wednesday morning, the fast 7 Hills boards had taken their toll and cut the field in half. Thursday AM was the positioning round for the final 4 teams in Championship and Consolation. And the winners were:

Bill Rindone and Mike Garrett, 1st place ChampionshipChamp1a.jpg

Ann Fernandez and Jerry White, 2nd Champ.


Nadine and Bob Hackett, 3rd place Champ.


And from Modesto, Ca. District 5 Sect-Treas. Shirley and District 5 Pres. Gene Eager, 4th place Champ.champ4.jpg

1st place Cons. went to, Marolyn Davidson and Robert LichtwaldCons1.jpg

2nd Cons.- Ron Needham and Paul EglyCons3.jpg

3rd place Cons. from Canada by way of District 5, Joyce and Gid Carriere Cons2.jpg

And 4th place Cons. Lorriane Donahue and Cleo Roberts (Micky Rose standing in for Cleo)Cons4.jpg


Special Awards and thanks went to (l-r) Tournament Managers Lynda Goggin and Helen Noeltner. Head Referee, George Hayner. Head Scorekeeper, Carole Blasingamespecial2.jpg


And no tournament can run without a board crew. (l-r)   Chuck Davis, Everette Harbison, Mike Gogan, and Ron Needham  Not shown were Mary Davis and Suzanne Shapiro. The engines that propelled this event.special1.jpg

Congratulations to all these winners. And to Bill and Mike for winning the once in a lifetime NATIONAL PIN.

Submitted by, Jay Davidson (the guy in the orange shirt)