Monthly Archives: January 2020

Desert Challenge 2020

Every year District 5 & 7 compete with each other in the Desert Challenge. This year it was held at The Lakes at Hemet West in Hemet on January18, 2020. It was good fun playing 16 frame games, with Alice Beers (right) being awarded the plaque for the most wins (21-19) from the tournament director Lynda Goggin (left)

IMG_2562File picture of CSA and District 5 President Gene Eager and Shirley Eager, District 5 Team Captain.

For more pictures go to:


Thirty-six rookie shufflers competed in the CSA District 5’s annual Rookie Tournament at Ramon Park in Palm Springs on February 20 & 21. This is the most Rookie shufflers in the tournament since 2016. It’s encouraging to see that many new shufflers. District 5’s definition of a rookie is a player who has not been involved in extended shuffling, either in organized or recreational play, prior to January 1st of the preceding year of the Rookie Tournament.
As was the case with the Singles Tournament held at Ramon Park, on the second morning of the Rookie Tournament the Board crew woke up to flooding on their courts. This board crew does a miraculous job in having their courts in shuffling condition within a few hours of a rainstorm that passes through the area. The song lyrics, “It never rains in Southern California” proved itself incorrect again!
Championship Winners:
    1. Gary Foster, Royal Palms

    2. Jerry Riggins, Indian Wells
    3. Millisa Woods, Ramon
    4. Natalie Wonders, Tri Palms

Championship Winners.JPG

Consolation Winners:
    1. Garry DeBlonde, Royal Palms
    2. Bonnie Holcomb, Tri Palms
    3. Michael Wells, Desert Crest
    4. Noelle Stephens, Tri Palms
Consolation Winners.JPG
Jim Montague, President of the Ramon Shuffleboard Club and Gene Eager, District 5 and CSA President, presented the awards.

District 5 Cash Bonspiel. 2020 edition.

The Indian Wells Shuffleboard Club hosted the 2020 Cash Bonspielon their 4 inside courts at their Resort in Indio, CA on January 10 – 13. The first day the 56 entrants played 2 games which determined which of the 4 divisions they would be playing in the remainder of the Bonspiel. The next 2 days the 14 entries in each division played 2 games per day and on the final day the top 4 in each of the 4 divisions competed in 2 games  for the 1st – 4th cash awards. Sun RV Resorts, owners of the Indian Wells RV Resort, contributed to the prize money.
District 5 which encompasses the Coachella Valley has 10 shuffleboard clubs. All 10 of those clubs had entries in this year’s Bonspiel and 8 of those clubs were represented in the finals on Monday. The division winners were presented their cash awards by the newly-elected California Shuffleboard Association President Gene Eager who is also the current President of CSA District 5 and the Indian Wells Shuffleboard Club.
This Bonspiel is the only fundraising event for the IW Shuffleboard Club and Kitchen Manager Louise Bryant is to be commended for the delicious lunches she and her kitchen crew had available each day. With a choice of 2 different kinds of homemade soup each of the 4 days, sandwiches, hot dogs, chili and pie, it’s easy to see why the entrants refer to this Bonspiel as the place that has the good lunches.
The top winner was Jerry Riggins from the Indian Wells Shuffleboard Club. Jerry will be competing in the Rookie Tournament later this month. Jerry’s name will be enscribed on the travelling trophy that has names dating back to 1984.
Jerry and Gene
Jerry Riggins.jpg
Division winners were:
A Division: 1. Jerry Riggins, Indian Wells
                  2. Chuck Gerock, Palm Desert Greens
                  3. Helen Fraser, Safari
                  4. Russ Smart, The Canyon
A Division Winners.jpg
B Division: 1. Lois Krell, Royal Palms
                  2. Garth Dickson, Tramview
                  3. Don Krell, Royal Palms
                  4. Bill Kuhn, The Canyon
B Division Winners.jpg
C Division: 1. Jackie Davidson, Safari
                  2. Jim Montague, Ramon
                  3. Gary Adams, Palm Desert Greens
                  4. Fran Maze, Tramview
C Division.jpg
D Division: 1. Gary Stephens, Tri Palms
                  2. Jean Anderson, Tri Palms
                  3. Stan Foster, Tri Palms
                  4. John Burnett, Ramon
D Division Winners.jpg
Thank you to Richard Spendiff, Indian Wells RV Activity Assn Facebook Photographer, for photographing the 2020 Bonspiel and to his wife Wendy for posting the pictures and information on the Indian Wells RV Resort Facebook page.

December 27, 28 & 30 Hall of Fame CSA Any Singles Golden Village Palms Hemet, Ca.

Helen Bell, president of GVP, was the director of this annual event.  Many volunteers helped facilitate this event including the board crew of Ray Ackenhausen & Kerry Selway, head scorekeeper Carol Blasingame, and ATM’s Lynda Goggin, Cheryl Dewberry & Robert Brooks.

Contributors to the funding were The Bank of Hemet (many thanks to them for their never-ending support), and the collected entry fees from GVP.   All 8 winners received pins and award money for their performance.

64 hopefuls began play at 9am Friday the 27th 0f December. Having Christmas fall on a Wednesday this year forced Helen Bell to hold the yearly tournament/CSA annual meeting on Friday, Saturday and Monday, giving players a travel day on Thursday the 26th and Sunday off.

Congratulations to these winners–


Consolation.jpegFrom Left to Right:

    Bank of Hemet representative Aaron Young; First place – Roland Schneider (SDSE); Second place – Bridget Gerber (MS); Third place – Jim Sanders (SDSE); Fourth place – John Robillard (EGE); CSA president – Gene Eager.




From Left to Right:

    Bank of Hemet representative Aaron Young; First place – Jeannie Gregory (EGE); Second place – Lynda Gerbasi (SDSE); Third place – Harry Gregory (EGE); Fourth place – Howard Harrell (FHH); CSA president – Gene Eager.


Jeannie Gregory, had to defeat her husband, Harry, in the position round to claim this CSA Champions Pin.


hall of fame.png

CA HOF (2).jpeg





Robert Brooks (district 7), submitted by Jay Davidson & Mike Garrett, awarded by Hall of Fame Chairman Shirley Eager

Karla2.jpegJ300X225-04602 2.jpeg

Karla Winget (posthumously district 7), submitted by Nelda Lichtwald & Sallie Hamilton, awarded by Shirley Eager and accepted by Jim Winget



Earle Maze (posthumously district 5), submitted by  Shirley Gengler, read by Steve Burt, awarded by Shirley Eager and accepted by Earle’s son Loren Maze.